Skip to content

DVD Release: I Love Lucy: Complete Series

November 3, 2015

By John Corrado

I Love Lucy DVDThis week, Paramount is releasing I Love Lucy: The Complete Series on DVD.  Running for six seasons from 1951 to 1957, the show follows the comic foibles of fiery redhead Lucy (Lucille Ball) and her Cuban bandleader husband Ricky Ricardo (Desi Arnez), as well as their neighbours Fred (William Frawley) and Ethel Mertz (Vivian Vance).

Having grown up watching old episodes of I Love Lucy in syndication, these characters have been a part of my life for as long as I can remember, and the show remains an indelible part of popular culture that redefined the sitcom format, and was groundbreaking for its time for a multitude of reasons.

This is undeniably one of the most beloved and iconic series of all time, and a brilliant showcase for Lucille Ball, who is still among the finest comic actors to ever grace our screens.  Featuring all 181 episodes of I Love Lucy including the “lost” Christmas special, along with the thirteen episodes of The Lucy-Desi Comedy Hour which ran from 1957 to 1960, this newly packaged set offers the perfect chance to add the entire series to your collection, and own a genuine piece of television history.  A highly recommended box set for all fans of this classic show.

The 33-disc set also includes original openings, deleted footage and lost scenes, outtakes, production notes and various featurettes, among other bonus materials.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: