Skip to content

DVD Review: SpongeBob SquarePants: The Complete Twelfth Season

January 12, 2021

By John Corrado

SpongeBob SquarePants has been on the air for over two decades now, and the complete twelfth season of the Nickelodeon cartoon is being released on DVD this week. The set comes with all 25 episodes from the season spread across three discs, and the Bikini Bottom adventures included herein serve as familiar comfort food for fans of the characters.

I mean, not much has changed in the over twenty years since the show began in 1999. The cranky Squidward (Roger Bumpass) is still getting annoyed by his jubilant neighbours SpongeBob (Tom Kenny) and Patrick (Bill Fagerbakke), and the evil Plankton (Mr. Lawrence) is still trying to steal the Krabby Patty secret formula from rival restaurateur Mr. Krabs (Clancy Brown).

Not every episode here is equally memorable, and some of them do feel more like filler to pad out a full season. But there are still some definite highlights, including SpongeBob becoming a cool jazz crooner after Squidward fixes the gap between his teeth so he will stop whistling (Mind the Gap); the return of the Dirty Bubble who tries to stay “clean” after going to jail (Dirty Bubble Returns); and Patrick getting a job at the Goofy Goober to take advantage of the free ice cream perk (The Goofy Newbie).

Some other season twelve highlights include SpongeBob and Squidward taking part in a live action role-playing game to get Bubble Bass to pay his tab (Bubblebass’s Tab), and the two of them trying to cook a nice meal for Mr. Krabs’s date with Mrs. Puff (Kooky Cooks). The season ends on a high note with the amusing double episode Escape From Beneath Glove World, followed by SpongeBob trying to distribute Krabby Patties at a concert (Krusty Koncessionaries), before drifting off into a wordless, jazz-infused dreamscape (Dream Hoppers).

The set also includes the special extended episode SpongeBob’s Big Birthday Blowout, which aired for the show’s twentieth anniversary in 2019. The special got a standalone DVD release a few months ago that I reviewed here, and it’s nice to have it included in the set as well.


Disc One:

• FarmerBob/Gary & Spot

• The Nitwitting/The Ballad of Filthy Muck

• The Krusty Slammer/Pineapple RV

• Gary’s Got Legs/King Plankton

• Plankton’s Old Chum/Stormy Weather

• Swamp Mates/One Trick Sponge

• The Krusty Bucket/Squid’s on a Bus

• Sandy’s Nutty Nieces/Insecurity Guards

• Broken Alarm/Karen’s Baby

Disc Two:

• Shell Games/Senior Discount

• Mind the Gap/Dirty Bubble Returns

• Jolly Lodgers/Biddy Sitting

• SpongeBob’s Big Birthday Blowout

• SpongeBob in Randomland/Spongebob’s Bad Habit

• Handemonium/Breakin’

• Boss for a Day/The Goofy Newbie

• The Ghost of Plankton/My Two Krabses

Disc Three:

• Knock, Knock Who’s There?/Pat Hearts Squid

• Lighthouse Louie/Hiccup Plague

• A Cabin in the Kelp/The Hankering

• Who R Zoo?

• Plankton’s Intern/ Patrick’s Tantrum

• BubbleBass’s Tab/Kooky Cooks

• Escape From Beneath Glove World

• Krusty Koncessionaries/Dream Hoppers

Special Features (DVD):

SpongeBob Appreciation Day: Patchy’s Beach Bash! (21 minutes, 50 seconds): This recent live action special finds Patchy the Pirate (Tom Kenny) stranded on the island above Bikini Bottom to celebrate SpongeBob Appreciation Day. He is joined by special guests, and we are treated to clips from classic episodes of the show.

SpongeBob SquarePants: The Complete Twelfth Season is a Paramount Home Entertainment release. It’s 576 minutes and rated G.

Street Date: January 12th, 2021

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: